Specialty Certificate Examination in Gastroenterology

Exam date UK registration period Pearson VUE UK booking window International registration period Results release

22 April 2015

20 April 2016

17 December 2014 - 18 March 2015

30 December 2015 - 23 March 2016

22 January - 22 March 2015

27 January - 24 March 2016

17 December 2014 - 14 January 2015

30 December 2015 - 27 January 2016

19 May 2015

4 weeks after exam date


The Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE) in Gastroenterology is delivered once a year.

Eligibility requirements

There are no entry requirements for the SCE in Gastroenterology, although candidates in UK training posts would normally take the SCE in their penultimate year of higher specialty training.

Qualification: Certificate in Gastroenterology

Trainees who hold MRCP(UK), have gained the Certificate in Gastroenterology and who are recommended for a CCT will be entitled to apply for the postnominal MRCP(UK) (Gastroenterology).

For further details please see the FAQs.

Curriculum and blueprint

The Specialty Training Curriculum for Gastroenterology and Sub-specialty Training Curriculum for Hepatology is published by the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board (JRCPTB).

The examination is made up of questions covering the whole curriculum, selected by a predetermined blueprint:

SCE in Gastroenterology blueprint

Resources for trainees

Preparation for the SCE requires a wide breadth of knowledge around the curriculum and should involve reading of textbooks, journals and guidelines. Experience of the MRCP(UK) examination provides an excellent background to the format of the examination.

Suggested sources and reading are listed below:





  • Oxford Handbook of Gastroenterology and Hepatology 2006 (S Bloom, G Webster)
  • Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 9th Ed, 2010 (M Feldman, Laurence S Friedman)
  • Textbook of Gastroenterology, 5th Ed, 2008 (Ed T Yamada)
  • The Textbook of Hepatology, 3rd Ed, 2007 (Ed J Rodes)


Sample questions

The questions are in ‘best of five’ multiple choice format. This format, in addition to testing core knowledge and comprehension, also assesses the ability to interpret information and to solve clinical problems. There will be five options – one correct answer and four alternatives to the correct answer. The four distractors will be closely related to the preferred option but less correct, therefore acting as plausible alternatives.

These questions give an indication of the type of question you can expect in the exam. Take part in this interactive sample test:

Results report

The selected metrics report provides details about the 2014 examination. All the statistics are intended to help candidates to be more informed and better prepared for the examination. The reports are also available to other stakeholders (e.g. deaneries’ representatives, board members, trainees’ supervisors) who would like to find out more about candidates’ performance in order to be able to make informed decisions about training programmes or examination standards.

Gastroenterology results report