The MRCP(UK) Part 2 Clinical Examination (Practical Assessment of Clinical Examination Skills - PACES) is designed to test the clinical knowledge and skills of trainee doctors who hope to enter higher specialist training (ST3). Trainees must have passed the Part 1 written examination within the last 7 years before taking PACES. The exam sets rigorous standards to ensure that trainees are competent across a range of skills and ready to provide a high standard of care to patients. 

For details about dates, fees and where you can take the exam see:

What's involved in PACES?

In PACES, candidates are assessed on their ability to carry out essential clinical skills. There are five clinical stations where there are either patients with a given condition, or trained stand-ins (surrogates). At each station, there are two independent examiners. These are senior physicians who have been recruited and trained to carry out PACES. These examiners will observe and evaluate the candidates' performance. 

PACES at a glance

  • half-day examination
  • takes place in a clinical setting (hospital or clinical skills centre)
  • assesses seven core skills
  • five stations (see carousel diagram)
  • eight patient encounters
  • two independent examiners at each station
  • each candidate is assessed independently by a total of 10 examiners

For more information about the skills assessed during PACES view the exam format.

There are various resources available to help you prepare for the exam:

Email updates

Click here to get alerts on the opening of application periods as well as info/tips on revision/preparation resources and more!