MRCP(UK) examinations

The MRCP(UK) Diploma and Specialty Certificate Examinations are designed to test the skills, knowledge and behaviour of doctors in training. It has three parts:  

Successful completion of the entire three-part examination is required before you can start specialist internal medicine training in the UK. All the MRCP(UK) and Specialty Certificate Examinations are approved by the General Medical Council (GMC) as part of the UK postgraduate medical training programme and follow the UK curricula and guidelines.

Foundation Years

Training during the foundation years (FY1 and FY2) enables newly qualified doctors to achieve general clinical and non-clinical competencies defined in the UK curriculum. This covers acute, community, mental health and general practice. It forms the bridge between medical school and specialty training.

Internal Medicine Training

Internal Medicine Training (IMT) forms the first stage of specialty training for most doctors training in physicianly specialties and will prepare trainees for participating in the acute medical take at a senior level and managing patients with acute and chronic medical problems in outpatient and inpatient settings. The curriculum for IMT stage 1 was approved by the GMC in December 2017 and replaces Core Medicial Training (CMT) from August 2019. Trainees must complete IMT and acquire the full MRCP(UK) Diploma in order to enter specialty training at ST4 from 2022. Some specialties (group 2 specialties) will recruit trainees who have completed two years of IMT and completed MRCP(UK) at ST3 level. 

Specialty Training

Specialty Training (ST3 - 6) are NHS training posts in specific specialties following on from core medical training.

Sign up to our e-newsletter to receive regular exam updates