PACES Awards

We rely on many organisations and individuals to give up their time and resources in the delivery of PACES every year. The following awards are given in recognition of this commitment.

PACES Champions

The PACES Champions award was created to honour individuals for their commitment to PACES.

Both UK and international recipients will be chosen from nominations which can be made by anyone who is involved in PACES – although self-nominations will not be accepted. Examples of individuals who can be nominated include centre support staff, medical professionals or volunteers who do not receive direct payment for their involvement.

The following criterion will be used to judge the nominations:

  1. Overall contribution to PACES
  2. Longstanding dedication to PACES
  3. Contribution as a team player
  4. Positive attitude in supporting PACES
  5. Supporting PACES in challenging circumstances

The nomination form includes a section to provide examples of the nominee’s contribution. This statement, and the supporting statement provided by a senior college examiner, senior college administrator or the International Medical Director (IMD), will provide the basis for the judging panel’s decision.

College contact details

Nominations for 2023 are now open.  Please see the Nomination Form here which includes further guidance and frequently asked questions. Nominations should be sent to the respective supporting college by 29 September 2023 to allow for a supporting statement to be provided ahead of the close of nominations on 13 October 2023.

Dr Ken Dagg, MRCP(UK) Medical Director for Assessment said, “It is a great pleasure again to invite nominations for our PACES Champion Awards. We recognise the enormous effort that many people make running our very successful PACES centres and these awards are our opportunity to recognise individuals who have gone the extra mile. I would encourage you to nominate individuals who you feel deserve extra recognition.”

PACES plaques

The inaugural plaques were awarded in 2011 to mark the ten year anniversary of PACES. The aim is to recognise those organisations who have been most involved in the exam, hosting a high number of candidates or cycles, and provide an aspirational target to new centres. 

Plaques are awarded every three years and are sent with a letter of recognition to the Medical Director, CEO and Host Examiner at each centre, from the MRCP(UK) Medical Director of Assessment, Clinical Examining Board Chair, and the International Medical Director.

In order to be eligible, our UK centres must have, in the previous three years, assessed more than 90 candidates or hosted the exam for seven days or more.  International centres receive a plaque if they have hosted an exam in the last three years, in recognition of their hard work and dedication.